Certified Rank Examiner Committee

Information

Certified Rank Examiners Committee


USJA continues to believe our black belts are more than qualified to evaluate and promote the students within their club.  What we have learned in the past few years:

  • We have club black belts that have no one in their area to assist with their own promotions because their Sensei has moved, deceased, or stop playing judo. 
  • We have new Black Belts that were not trained in the promotion process or just have questions and not sure who to ask. 
  • Individuals that have not tested in years and no one following up with them.

To assist with these situations and others, we have decided to reinstate the CRE program.
Once someone reaches the rank of Sandan or higher they are eligible to become a USJA Certified Rank Examiner (CRE), after they show their understanding and ability to follow all the requirements of the promotion procedure.  This program allows certain individuals meeting the requirements to examine others for rank promotions. 
There are four levels:

  • CRE having a rank of 3rd Dan or above.  Advancement after this depends on a person’s rank and their ability to meet the requirements.  
  • After spending one year as a CRE having the rank of 4th Dan or above, may apply to become a RCRE.  
  • After spending one year as a RCRE having the rank of 5th Dan or above, may apply to become a NCRE .
  • After spending two years as a NCRE having the rank of 6th Dan or above, may apply as a MCRE. 

If you are interested in becoming a CRE, complete the Certified Rank Examiner Application and forward to the National Office, support@usja.net. 

Safe Sport Program

Please remember all coaches must now take and pass this on-line test. You may do this at your convenience. It takes between 2 and 3 hours total but can be completed in segments. Once you have completed the program, please send a copy of the certificate to the USJA Office. Please go to Safe Sport, select the option of USA Judo member or Non-USA Judo member, and follow the required steps. You will use your USA Judo membership number if you are a member. If you are a non-member, send an email to the National Office at support@usja.net and request a Safe Sport access code.  You will be given a number to use to access Safe sport.


Concussion Training (Your choice of CDC or NAYS)

By taking the CDC Heads Up Concussion Training online course and using what you learn, you will be well positioned to improve the culture of concussion. Your actions can help create a safe environment for young athletes so that they can stay healthy, active, and thrive – both on and off the playing field. Click Here to take the Heads Up Concussion course. Once you complete the training and quiz, you can print out a certificate and email it to the office for verification.


To complete the NAYS course, please visit the National Alliance for Youth Sports website, choose the 'SIGN UP' button and follow the instructions. Upon proper completion, download the certificate and email to support@usja.net or fax to (844) 892-6608. You may visit the NAYS website HERE.


Background Check

Go to the Background Screening Site

Certified Rank Examiner List


The following shows a list of CRE who have upgraded their CRE status or have become new CRE. They can examine, test and verify someone’s ability to meet the requirements for promotion. All RFP and the requirements shown in the Judo Rank Promotion System are strictly evaluated for compliance. 

If your name is not shown below our records indicate that you are not currently a CRE. If you are not current, please contact N.O. or the CRE committee for instructions on reinstatement.



Name Rank Email City State Level
Abney, Willie Sandan abneywillie@gmail.com Williamsburg VA Certified Rank Examiner
Alex, Neil Yodan neilalex@gmail.com Bend OR Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Anderson, Keith Sandan mushinjudo@gmail.com Sitka AK Certified Rank Examiner
Anton, Robert Godan anton_bob@outlook.com Mansfield MA Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Augusto, Paulo Fernando Shichidan sdbjj1@gmail.com San Marcos CA National Certified Rank Examiner
Barry, Francis Godan fbarry1@gmail.com Leavenworth KS National Certified Rank Examiner
Becker, Gregory Yodan greg_becker@comcast.net Greeley CO Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Bedsaul, Doug Yodan downtownmartialartsacademy@gmail.com Starkville MS Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Bender, Bruce Shichidan babender836@gmail.com Marion IN Master Certified Rank Examiner
Bentley, Loren Yodan lorenbentleyiii@gmail.com Albuquerque NM Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Bergren, Stephen Godan srbergren@yahoo.com Moline IL National Certified Rank Examiner
Bergwerf, Ben Rokudan benbergwerf@gmail.com Isle of Palms SC Master Certified Rank Examiner
Blomquist, Niilo Godan niiloblomquist@gmail.com Manchester NJ Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Bonner, Cynthia Yodan c3bonner@cox.net Litchfield Park AZ Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Boyogueno, Yves Thaddee Yodan Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Bregman, James Judan jsbregman.64@gmail.com Leesburg VA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Brezhnev, Boris Rokudan dynamosclub@aol.com Beverly Hills CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Brizendine, Huie Godan bgjudo@gmail.com Bowling Green KY Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Burke, Russell Shichidan tpd1161@gmail.com Toledo OH Master Certified Rank Examiner
Carol, Edgar Rokudan judoed@embarqmail.com Kaufman TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Chapman, Ronald Rokudan meldas039@gmail.com,judoron@hotmail.com Bell FL Master Certified Rank Examiner
Charles, Ronald Allan Kudan ronaldallancharles@comcast.net Goose Creek SC Master Certified Rank Examiner
Chima, Manmohan Shichidan sewadhar@hotmail.com Plano TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Chittenden, George Yodan unitedjujitsu@yahoo.com Oak Ridge TN Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Coffman, Marshall Rokudan mrcoffman1@comcast.net Dunkirk MD Master Certified Rank Examiner
Conkright, Delbert Yodan judo@honormartialarts.com Hockley TX Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Connelly, Andrew Hachidan connelly@sohkjudo.com Spring TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Conte, Raymond Rokudan smijudo@gmail.com Amsterdam NY Master Certified Rank Examiner
Cooley, Ron Godan roncooley@cooleylaw.com Hillsborough NC National Certified Rank Examiner
Cooper, Maldwyn Godan maldwyn99@hotmail.com Lansdale PA National Certified Rank Examiner
Cutler, Charles Godan lacgnota.janine@comcast.net Middletown CT National Certified Rank Examiner
Cypert, Jerry Godan hogoshajudo@aol.com Fox Lake WI National Certified Rank Examiner
Dean, Walter Kudan wdean9d@gmail.com Carlsbad CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Dean, Greg Yodan greg@emeraldcityjudo.com Redmond WA Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Dobbs, Michael Sandan michaeltomdobbs@icloud.com Franklin TN Certified Rank Examiner
Draper, Robert Sandan rddraperiu1990@gmail.com Edmond OK Certified Rank Examiner
Durand, Kenneth Shichidan kdurand603@gmail.com Keene NH Master Certified Rank Examiner
Ellis, David Godan awejudo@rocketmail.com Palm Bay FL National Certified Rank Examiner
English, Leigh Yodan mapesenglish@me.com Chesterfield MO Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Fergus, Deborah Yodan defrgs6@gmail.com Ironwood MI Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Ferguson, Rhadi Rokudan tampafloridajudo@gmail.com Tampa FL Master Certified Rank Examiner
Figueroa, Guillermo Shichidan kinojudo@hotmail.com San Ysidro CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Figueroa, Guillermo Shichidan kinojudo@hotmail.com San Ysidro CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Finkbeiner, Jan Shichidan janfinkbeiner54@gmail.com Williamsport PA National Certified Rank Examiner
Finkbeiner, Jan Shichidan janfinkbeiner54@gmail.com Williamsport PA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Fletcher, Elijah Sandan elijahfletch@gmail.com Summerville SC Certified Rank Examiner
Fries, Frederick Rokudan fwfries@yahoo.com Merritt Island FL Master Certified Rank Examiner
Fritschy, Kevin Yodan ineastappraisal@msn.com Londonderry NH Certified Rank Examiner
Garnett, Gary Godan wt0b.gary@gmail.com Victoria TX National Certified Rank Examiner
Gass, Phil Sandan pgass@nfg.com New Canaan CT Certified Rank Examiner
Gelpi, Israel Yodan gelpii@yahoo.com New York NY Certified Rank Examiner
Goldsmith, Michael Godan judohawk@hotmail.com Plainview NY National Certified Rank Examiner
Goldstein, Jesse Hachidan jesse80moscow@gmail.com Toms River NJ Master Certified Rank Examiner
Goltz, Gary Hachidan gary@goltzjudo.com Upland CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Goncalves, Tiago Yodan tiuscg@gmail.com Tampa FL Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Grandt, Dane Godan Bdgrandt@aol.com Baton Rouge LA National Certified Rank Examiner
Green, John Godan hijohn46@yahoo.com Ogden UT National Certified Rank Examiner
Gregory, Shawn Sandan sgregory471@gmail.com Chino Hills CA Certified Rank Examiner
Guerrero, David Rokudan guerred@verizon.net,guerred1@outlook.com Upland CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Gustin, Thomas Hachidan thomasgustin219@yahoo.com Racine WI Master Certified Rank Examiner
Hahn, James Sandan judo3rddan@yahoo.com Mt. Pleasant MI Certified Rank Examiner
Halporn, Constance Rokudan constance.halporn@gmail.com Brooklyn NY Master Certified Rank Examiner
Han, Tom Sandan temeculajudo@hotmail.com Murrieta CA Certified Rank Examiner
Hansen, Austin Sandan seijukudanjudo@gmail.com Sanford NC Certified Rank Examiner
Harrison, James Yodan Jsh.harrison@outlook.com Prospect KY Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Hays, Mark Rokudan manddhays@cox.net Santee CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Henderson, Isaac "Ike" Sandan ranger1309@icloud.com Rockville MD Certified Rank Examiner
Hiatt, Michael Sandan mikeh@bonanzapress.com Redmond WA Certified Rank Examiner
Hoff, Daniel Godan dhoff099@gmail.com Indianapolis IN National Certified Rank Examiner
Hudson, Kenneth Yodan kennyhudson55@yahoo.com las vegas NV Certified Rank Examiner
Hunt, Robert Yodan bh_921@hotmail.com Port Republic MD Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Hunter, Dr. Robert Godan cavdoc5@comcast.net Tucson AZ Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Hunter, Michael Sandan michael.hunter@purelandjiujitsu.com Little Rock AR Certified Rank Examiner
Hunter, Mark Rokudan markjudo@aol.com Bluffton OH Master Certified Rank Examiner
Ishisaka, Sanders Shichidan industryjudo@gmail.com Monterey Park CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Johns, Jeffrey Yodan jeff.johns42@yahoo.com Kitanning PA Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Jones, Dennis Yodan judodrj@gmail.com Julian NC Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Karmann, Bradley Shichidan Karmannbrad5460@gmail.com Murrieta CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Kieslich, Eberhard Rokudan kieslich60@gmail.com Battletown KY Master Certified Rank Examiner
Kirby, John Godan jkirby@mossycreekdojo.com Jefferson City TN Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Kudo, Noriyasu Hachidan joshkudo59@gmail.com Springfield MA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Laney, Charlie Rokudan cvlaney@outlook.com Fort Worth TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Law, James Yodan jim.law1963@gmail.com Dover OH Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Lenfest, Roger Godan derryjudo@comcast.net Derry NH National Certified Rank Examiner
Litoff, Kenneth Sandan kenneth.litoff@gmail.com Gardners PA Certified Rank Examiner
Locke, Stephen Shichidan lockes@fau.edu Delray Beach FL Master Certified Rank Examiner
Lopez, Xavier Sandan xavier985@hotmail.com Houston TX Certified Rank Examiner
Mahan, Vicki Godan mahan_vicki21@yahoo.com North Wales PA National Certified Rank Examiner
Main, Clinton Shichidan Main1057@gmail.com Toms River NJ Master Certified Rank Examiner
Mantel, Peter Rokudan Judo.bum@hotmail.com Toano VA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Martin, Carla Rokudan martin_carla@sbcglobal.net Houston TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Matl, Zdenek Hachidan zmatl@yahoo.com Round Rock TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
McCarter, Dennis Sandan dennismccrtr@gmail.com Rohnert Park CA Certified Rank Examiner
Menzel, Lorenzo Yodan ghia58@yahoo.com Charleston SC Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Mesite, Ralph Sandan mesitergm@gmail.com Wallingford CT Certified Rank Examiner
Miarecki, Kenneth Sandan kenneth92@charter.net Chicopee MA Certified Rank Examiner
Migliaccio, Renato Godan info@sampabjj.com La Verne CA Certified Rank Examiner
Millan, Osmil Hachidan oshachidan@tds.net Maddison WI Master Certified Rank Examiner
Mohammadian, Mehdi Hachidan mohammadian@sbcglobal.net Oshkosh WI Master Certified Rank Examiner
Monto, Gary Hachidan GaryMonto1947@gmail.com Oregon OH Master Certified Rank Examiner
Moore, Douglas Yodan mooredouglas4@gmail.com Plantersville TX Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Moreau, Thomas Godan jconnors83@live.com Raymond NH Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Morotti, Philippe Rokudan philippemorotti1@gmail.com Los Angeles CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Morrison, Paul Rokudan debanajudoandaikido@gmail.com Pearland TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Mott, Eric Sandan ericonline@protonmail.com LANCASTER PA Certified Rank Examiner
Moyerman, Louis Hachidan lmoyerman@aol.com Philadelphia PA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Muender, Mike Godan muender2000@yahoo.com Exmore VA National Certified Rank Examiner
Murek, Joseph Shichidan joseph.murek@azwestern.edu,umpire1@q.com Somerton AZ Master Certified Rank Examiner
Ohlenkamp, Neil Shichidan judounleashed@gmail.com Carpinteria CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Olevsky, Albert Yodan Judo@raleighkarate.com Raleigh NC Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Olson, Lance Yodan lanceolson210@gmail.com St. Marys GA Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Olstad, Rick Shichidan olstadre@hotmail.com Edgerton WI Master Certified Rank Examiner
Parritt, David Hachidan dparritt@aol.com Palm Bay FL Master Certified Rank Examiner
Pasiuk, George Shichidan mr1judo@optonline.net Bronx NY Master Certified Rank Examiner
Passoff, Dave Shichidan dpassoff@hotmail.com Great Neck NY Master Certified Rank Examiner
Pierce, Randy Hachidan konjo7@aol.com,plp615@aol.com Imperial MO Master Certified Rank Examiner
Pileri, Dominic Shichidan rokudan62002@yahoo.com Peachtree City GA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Prata, Thomas Godan tprata56@gmail.com,tprata@condorseed.com New Port Richey FL National Certified Rank Examiner
Puerner, David Sandan herkloader1@gmail.com Wellton AZ Certified Rank Examiner
Rabinowitz, Joshua Rokudan joshjudo4@gmail.com Goodyear AZ Master Certified Rank Examiner
Raney, Daniel Sandan O'Fallon MO Certified Rank Examiner
Reagan, Mackel Yodan mackelreagan@gmail.com Clarksville TN Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Robinson, Harold Hachidan robin0305@aol.com Pensacola FL Master Certified Rank Examiner
Robles, Felix Hachidan johnnyenglish776@gmail.com Houston TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Rommelmann, Heiko Rokudan heikojr@yahoo.com Webster NY Master Certified Rank Examiner
Round, Christopher Yodan roundce@gmail.com Reston VA Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Rowe, Brian Shichidan rowe@etsu.edu Johnson City TN Master Certified Rank Examiner
Rucker, R. Dana Godan ncreferee@gmail.com Weddington NC National Certified Rank Examiner
Russell, Pamela Godan swpajudo@windstream.net,sensei@swpajudo.com Carmichaels PA National Certified Rank Examiner
Salazar, Nelson Sandan nelsons@microsoft.com Kirkland WA Certified Rank Examiner
Sanchez, Sergio Rokudan cftspn@aol.com CAPE CORAL FL National Certified Rank Examiner
Sanfilippo,, Jon Hachidan sanflip@gmail.com Slinger WI Master Certified Rank Examiner
Sangimino, Tony Yodan Sangimino81kg@yahoo.com Burlingame CA Certified Rank Examiner
Sayre, Travis Sandan travis.c.sayre@gmail.com Parkersburg WV Certified Rank Examiner
Scarbrough, Kevin Sandan kevinbs@msn.com Buckeye AZ Certified Rank Examiner
Schmitt, Christopher Sandan cschmitty@charter.net Cataula GA Certified Rank Examiner
Schneemann, Joseph Sandan senseiyukidaruma@hotmail.com Walworth NY Certified Rank Examiner
Scuderi, Anthony Rokudan bishoptonyscuderi@gmail.com Elk Grove CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Sharp, Terence Rokudan tgsharp1@aol.com Rensselaer NY Master Certified Rank Examiner
Sherwin, William Rokudan bilncris2@verizon.net Abington MA Certified Rank Examiner
Sherwin, William Rokudan bilncris2@verizon.net Abington MA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Shirey, Edward Shichidan edwardshr8@gmail.com Oceanport NJ Master Certified Rank Examiner
Smith, Ernest Kudan erniesmith@earthlink.net Barstow CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Smith, John Yodan videoprojps@aol.com Fishers IN Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Smith, Demonn Sandan demonnlsmith@hotmail.com O'fallon MO Certified Rank Examiner
Soler, Orestes Hachidan o.soler@verizon.net Upland CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Southam, Barry Rokudan southamb@hotmail.com Lebanon PA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Spector, Ivan Charles Shichidan cssr@aol.com Houston TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Spoo, Timothy Godan aviinstaller@yahoo.com Mountville PA National Certified Rank Examiner
Sternick, James Yodan jim.sternick@gmail.com Sioux Falls SD Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Stevenson, Shandra Sandan shantasticone@gmail.com Appleton WI Certified Rank Examiner
Suggs, Ronald Ray Godan ronaldraysuggs@gmail.com Mapleton OR National Certified Rank Examiner
Sutton, Reginald Yodan reggiee415@yahoo.com Hamden CT Certified Rank Examiner
Szrejter, Patrick Hachidan patszrejter9@gmail.com Matthews NC Master Certified Rank Examiner
Szrejter, Michael Hachidan mikesz@bellsouth.net Boynton Beach FL Master Certified Rank Examiner
Taniguchi, Shintaro Sandan sxt.judo@gmail.com Honolulu HI Certified Rank Examiner
Tartuffe, Destinee Yodan destar100@yahoo.com Santa Rosa CA Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Teragouchi, Eiji Shichidan eteragouchi@gmail.com Boerne TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Thibedeau, Ed Rokudan jujitsu1950@gmail.com Little Rock AR Master Certified Rank Examiner
Trotter, Glenn Sandan glenntrotter@yahoo.com Chesterfield MO Certified Rank Examiner
Trude, Gregg Godan gtrude@mtech.edu National Certified Rank Examiner
Tureaud, Johnny Yodan tureaudj@outlook.com North Sioux City SD Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Turk, Donna Rokudan donnaturk@aol.com Navarre FL Master Certified Rank Examiner
Vander Horck, Matthew Godan m.vanderhorck@gmail.com Lakewood CA Regional Certified Rank Examiner
Varela, Jovany Rokudan jovanybjj@gmail.com Gardena CA Master Certified Rank Examiner
Veziris, Christos Shichidan chris.veziris@comcast.net Manchester NH Master Certified Rank Examiner
Wallman, Richard Ikkyu richard@ashlex.com Brownhills AL Master Certified Rank Examiner
Webb, James Hachidan drjimwebb54@gmail.com Dallas TX Master Certified Rank Examiner
Webb, Tim Sandan senseiwebb@gmail.com Pearland TX Certified Rank Examiner
Weidner, James Rokudan jcweidner@hotmail.com Plover WI National Certified Rank Examiner
Wells, Joseph Sandan sagajudo@yahoo.com Iron Station NC Certified Rank Examiner
Wojcik, David Godan ipponjudo@numail.org Tyrone GA National Certified Rank Examiner
Wright, Earl Sandan wrightearl15@yahoo.com Pensacola FL Certified Rank Examiner
Yoshida, Michael Rokudan judoman03@gmail.com Brookville OH Master Certified Rank Examiner

Members

Name Rank Email Location Status
Donna C. Turk Rokudan donnaturk@aol.com Navarre FL Chairperson
Bruce A. Bender Shichidan babender836@gmail.com Marion IN Member
Frederick Fries Rokudan fwfries@yahoo.com Merritt Island FL Member
Vicki L. Mahan Godan mahan_vicki21@yahoo.com North Wales PA Member
Paul Morrison Rokudan debanajudoandaikido@gmail.com Pearland TX Member

Forms


Category Form Actions
Judo Certified Rank Examiner Application Form View Download